Sunday, June 2, 2019

Temple grasshopper

Temple grasshopper
ຮູ້ຈັກຄວາມມາຍບໍ ຕັກກະແຕນຢູ່ວັດ
Do you know the meaning of the temple grasshopper?

Monday, May 27, 2019

Naga shrine

Naga shrine
ນັບຖືພຣະຍານາກບໍ
Do you respect the naga?

Sunday, May 26, 2019

Waterfall Buddha

Waterfall Buddha
ນ້ຳຕົກແລະພະພຸດທະຮູບຢູ່ວັດ
Waterfall and Buddha at Lao temple.

Friday, May 17, 2019

Tat Luang in the Evening

Tat Luang in the Evening

Some corruption numbers from LIWG

Vesakabusa Day Celebrations in Vientiane

Vesakabusa Day Celebrations in Vientiane
ສະຫລອງ ວັນວີສາຂະບູຊາ ຢູ່ຕາດຫຼວງວຽງຈັນ
Vesakabusa Day, a UN recognized special day of celebration, being celebrated at Tat Luang in Vientiane, Lao PDR. 16-18 May 2019, each evening starting at 7pm with live performances and food vendors.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Vesakabusa Day - Celebration performance by high school students


ສະຫລອງ ວັນວີສາຂະບູຊາ ຢູ່ຕາດຫຼວງວຽງຈັນ
Posted by Laoconnection.com on Thursday, May 16, 2019

Friday, May 10, 2019

A Tat Luang NOT in Vientiane

ພະທາດຫຼວງນຳທາ. ສາມາດເຂົ້າໄປໄດ້ເດີ 
Luang Namtha Stupa. You can go inside as well.

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

A new comprehensive overview of the Plain of Jars

Title:  Megalithic Jar Sites of Laos:  A Comprehensive Overview and New Discoveries
By:  Dougald O'Reilly, Louise Shewan, Julie Van Den Bergh, Samlane Luangaphay, Thonglith Luangkhoth
Publisher/Year:  Journal of Indo-Pacific Archeology, vol. 42 (2018)
Cost:  Free

Megalithic Jar Sites of Laos:  A Comprehensive Overview and New Discoveries

Megaliths of Upper Laos

Wednesday, March 13, 2019

A treehouse in the water

ເຮືອນນ້ອຍ​ຢູ່​ນ້ຳໄຫລ A little treehouse above the blue waterfall cascades in Luangprabang, Laos.

Monday, March 11, 2019

Damaged Beauty

Damaged Lao Buddha statue
ເກົ໋າແລະຫັກແຕກເຕ່ວ່າຍັງງາມ
Lao  Buddha statues (above) and an old mandala mural painting on the wall of a temple (below).

Saturday, March 9, 2019

A quaint village

A quaint village
ບ້ານກອງລານມວາງປາກແບງແຂວງອຸດົມໄຊ
Gonlang village, Pakbeng district, Oudomsai province, Laos.

Friday, March 8, 2019

International Women's Day

Young Lao women holding an umbrella
ວັນແມ່ຍິງສາກົນ March 8 is International Women's Day.
Celebrate it by showing appreciation to the wonderful women in your life! ♥️

Thursday, March 7, 2019

Friday, February 15, 2019

Flower offering

Flower offering
ດອກໄມ້ຈັນ (dok mau jun) A variation of a flower offering for the deceased at Lao funerals.

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Nightly beauty

Nightly beauty
ຕອນ​ກາງ​ຄືນຍັງງາມ  Even at night it's still beautiful.
Luangprabang temple

Sunday, February 3, 2019

Thursday, January 10, 2019

Recognize these creatures?

Temple and Himmapan Forest creatures from Buddhist mythology

ຮັບຮູ້ສັດນີ້ບໍ່
Temple and Himmapan Forest creatures from Buddhist mythology.
Artist credit: Josh Chiang

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

Tuesday, January 1, 2019

Phouvong Jewelry Calendar January 2019

ປະຕິທິນຮ້ານຂາຍຄຳພູວົງປີ2019ມັງກອນ